chickpea and cauliflower coconut curry!

I love curry. I don’t order it too often when I go out to eat because most of the curry’s that I am interested in contain potato, and I am allergic. I rarely make curry at home, but I think that needs to change. Making curry isn’t hard to do and also is similar to stew, in the sense that you need to let it simmer for a while, which is the best because you essentially set it up, and walk away. Love it. I paired this curry with coconut brown rice, but it would also go well with plain rice (brown or white) or with some naan. This made enough food to feed me and my husband and to have left overs (enough for one large meal or two small ones).

Image

What you need:

  • 1 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3/4 tbs curry powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 8 oz coconut milk
  • 8 oz chickpeas (or about 1/2 a can)
  • 1/2 a head of cauliflower, broken into florets
  • cilantro
  • lime

Heat oil in a medium sauce pan. Add onion, and cook over medium high heat until transparent. Toss in garlic and spices. Add in the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to simmer and cook for 25 minutes. Top each serving with some cilantro, to taste and a lime wedge. Serve over rice or with naan. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

